The Long Awaited Post-Covid Trip: United Polaris on B767

The Flight

  • UA135 in business
  • Zurich (ZRH) to Newark (EWR)
  • 10:10 departure – 13:15 arrival (9h 5m flight)

I like it when airlines introduce a new cabin design that is different from the others. I felt like it was a major upgrade when UA had their first Polaris cabin and I liked how the cabin looked back then, and I still like it now. Boeing 767 is a wide-body aircraft that is on the narrow side, and I think the Zodiac seat arrangement really makes a good use of the space. The seats are arranged in a 1-1-1, slightly staggered configuration. This means every seat has direct aisle access, with decent space and storage. I also felt that the shell gives good privacy, and the foot cubicle is big enough when I was in lie-flat mode.

I wouldn’t say the seat was sparkling new and I think the crew/airport staff could have done a better job in cleaning, but there was no major wear-and-tear issue visible and overall the seat with the Saks-branded bedding felt comfortable for a 9-hour flight.

United had a good selection of movies and TV series in their in flight entertainment system, so that’s good news for a light sleeper like me. The crew working my aisle was quite diligent in checking the passengers and they kept me well hydrated throughout the journey.

Overall the crew was being professional in doing their job – just don’t expect them to interact like the crews on Japanese or South East Asian airlines, they just have different style. Although, I have to give a shout out to the purser for being cheerful and welcoming. He even had time to greet each of every passenger and engaged in conversation in their seats.

As for the meal, I had something called ‘cod sashimi’ with arabiata sauce and roasted potatoes. It was…interesting..but i’ll choose another dish if i ever see this option again. Fortunately, the crew was proactively asking if i wanted two servings of dessert, and who am I to reject such a sweet offer 🙂 . On a side note, United didn’t really have a menu card, but instead had a piece of paper with the menu list ready on each seat. Maybe it’s for cost efficiency but it kinda make the experience feel less premium.

Final Words

Disregarding the lively family of four seating behind and next to me, my first flight across the Atlantic was relatively smooth and comfortable. I think United has a solid business class hard product in their Polaris, but I wish they pay more attention to the small details. Schedule and price permitting, I would not hesitate to choose United again in the future.

Oh, and I think most of the passengers will enjoy the experience more if the crew members could be more like the purser.

Leave a comment